Skip to main content Go to home page

Published on 30 October 2014

Land located in greater Melbourne and in an urban zone may qualify for the primary production land tax exemption, subject to meeting certain requirements. The urban zone is made up of zones, or parts of zones, under Victoria’s planning schemes that have been declared by the Governor in Council to be an urban zone for land tax purposes.

On 29 October 2014, the Governor in Council made a new urban zone declaration. In addition to previously declared zones, the 2015 declaration also includes the new Port Zone, which was introduced in Victoria in October 2014.

The declaration of urban zones takes effect from 30 October 2014 and will apply to the 2015 land tax year and onwards.

View the Declaration of Urban Zones here.

Last modified: 22 May 2024
Back to top